What I Read in May and June 2022

What I Read in May and June 2022

What I Read in May and June 2022

I’ve read quite a few books over the last few months, but most of them were from my Harry Potter annual re-read. So instead, of doing a wrap-up in May I joined May and June together. Here is my reading wrap-up of what I read in May and June 2022.

What I Read in May 2022

For the 11th year, I’ve re-read the Harry Potter series. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone is still my favourite in the series but I love them all. I don’t agree with J.K. Rowling’s views, and I don’t plan on giving her any more of my money – excluding the studio tour, which is still my happy place – but Harry Potter is bigger than J.K. Rowling now.

In May, I read the first 5 books in the series.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Prison of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Elektra by Jennifer Saint

I love a greek myth re-telling and Elektra is one of my favourite characters in Greek Mythology. Her story is intense and her mindset and actions always fascinated me. I did want to love this book, but much like Ariadne, it didn’t quite get there. However, it’s not a bad book by any means and is worth reading if you like greek myth re-tellings.

What I Read in June 2022

I read the final two books of the Harry Potter series at the beginning of June.

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx

I’ve finally read the short story – almost a novella. It’s a beautiful story of a doomed LGBT relationship in an extremely conservative and bigoted area of America. The characters are well-realized, although the story is under 60 pages, and the ending is devastating. I’ve never seen the movie – as I know it will destroy me – but I think I will watch it at some point soon.

The Gifts by Liz Hyder

I read this wonderful Victorian-set, magic realism novel for my new job! It’s a brilliant read, set in the heart of London, perfect for fans of The Binding and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock. 

Rosemary: The Hidden Kennedy Daughter by Kate Clifford Larsen

In June I listened to a non-fiction book about Rosemary Kennedy, the forgotten/hidden eldest daughter of the Kennedys. She had a tragic life and was so misunderstood and badly treated by her own family, who thought they were acting out of love. An interesting, if hard to read, read.

Making It by Jay Blades

And finally, I read Making It by Jay Blades. We are massive fans of The Repair Shop in our family – it’s our go-to good feels and sob fest. I’ve always liked Jay and I like him even more after reading his autobiography. It’s a no-hold-back autobiography, full of rawness and vulnerability. He owns up to his mistakes from his cheating on his many partners, his embarrassment about not being able to read until he was over 50, and many other things. It’s fascinating, quick, and reads like a Netflix documentary. Well worth reading.

What did you read in May and June 2022? Let me know in the comments below.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram // Waterstones // TikTok

What I Read in May and June 2022

Leave a Reply