Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021

Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021

Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021

It’s time to round up the year with my Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021. From non-fiction to contemporary fiction, these are my favourite books of the year.

The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

My favourite book of the year is The Radium Girls by Kate Moore. It’s a non-fiction book about women between 1910 and the 1950s who were exposed to poisonous amounts of radium knowingly by their employers. It took these women over 70 years to be recognised and compensated for the crimes of their employers. Many of the women died before they saw justice, and many others fought during their last days for recognition and to save others. It’s a harrowing read, and incredibly frustrating but worthwhile.

One For Sorrow by Helen Fields

My next favourite I can’t say too much about as it is a book I publish at work, but I loved One For Sorrow by Helen Fields. This is out in March 2022 and it is incredible.

Another Life by Jodie Chapman

Next up is Another Life. This book is set in my hometown and I recognised a lot of the places and areas featured. The story itself is really good, with very similar vibes to Normal People by Sally Rooney so well worth a read if you enjoyed that book or TV series.

Stories I Only Tell Friends by Rob Lowe

I’m a sucker for a brat pack memoir, and I really enjoyed the audiobook of Rob Lowe’s Stories I Only Tell My Friends. I read The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton in 2020 and loved it, and watched the film as a result. A lot of this memoir is taken up about Rob’s experience auditioning for The Outsiders and working with the amazing cast, most of whom went on to become household names. It’s also very funny and down-to-earth; my type of memoir.

Lovely War by Julie Berry

A read I discovered thanks to YouTube, this World War One historical novel is narrated by Aphrodite the Goddess of Love. It’s a story with multiple strands, from inter-racial relationships in the 1910s to loss, grief, and the power of memory.

Cinderella is Dead by Kalynn Bayron

Early on in 2021 I read Cinderella is Dead it was the perfect distraction I needed from a particularly stressful time. It was an LGBT romance retelling of Cinderella and it had some real twists. An enjoyable escapist read.

An Offer From a Gentleman by Julia Quinn

I became obsessed with the Bridgerton series after watching the Netflix series in December 2020. I read all seven of the Bridgerton books in six weeks, the third of which was An Offer From a Gentleman. This was my favourite because like Cinderella is Dead it is a retelling of Cinderella. Yes, it is problematic in places but I have a soft spot of Benedict and I liked the back story of this romance.

A Bite of the Apple by Lennie Goodings

I’m fascinated by Virago, an imprint of Little Brown but once an independent feminist publisher. Started by Dame Carmen Calil and developed by many other women, including Lennie Goodings, I was desperate to read this memoir. It was really interesting and full of anecdotes and book recommendations.

The Witch’s Heart by Genevieve Gornichec

If you enjoy myth and fairytale retellings then this Nordic Myth retelling is for you. It’s a retelling of the events that led to Ragnarök. Angrboda, the protagonist, was the wife of Loki and gave birth to his three children: Hel, Fenrir, and Jörmungand. The latter two were responsible for the destruction of Asgard. It’s an LGBT romance and myth retelling, and great for fans of Circe, The House of Names, and Norse Mythology. 

Stay Another Day by Juno Dawson

And finally, this Christmas story by Juno Dawson. It’s a great family tale, with lots of comedy as well as drama. Set in the modern-day, two 19-year-old twins return from their respective universities to their family’s for Christmas. She brings her boyfriend and he brings his friend. They join their mum, dad, and little sister – who suffers from anorexia, so trigger warning! – for Christmas in Edinburgh. The story starts off typically enough, but then about 30% of the way through a major reveal happens and it takes the book in a whole new direction. It’s very sweet, quite realistic and an enjoyable read for the festive season.

And there we have it. My Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021. What were yours? Let me know in the comments below.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram // Waterstones // TikTok

Top Ten Favourite Books of 2021

Leave a Reply