Books You’ll Enjoy if You Like What Planet Can I Blame This On?

Books You'll Enjoy if You Like What Planet Can I Blame This On

Books You’ll Enjoy if You Like What Planet Can I Blame This On?

It’s launch weekWhat Planet Can I Blame This On? is out on the 3rd June and I cannot wait. I’m a jittery mess.

Today I thought I would post a reading list of books that I think you’ll enjoy if you like What Planet Can I Blame This On?

Of course, this list isn’t me saying ‘I’m the next Dolly Alderton’ or ‘Sophie Kinsella’ it’s more to give you a rough idea of whether or not you’ll enjoy it. If you like these books then you’ll likely enjoy What Planet Can I Blame This On? and if you DO enjoy What Planet then here are some books to read next.

How Do You Like Me Now by Holly Bourne

First up is Holly Bourne’s debut adult fiction novel. This story starts with a super successful woman who has her own brand, great boyfriends, and friends. But really, her life is a bit of a lie and she’s not as happy and fulfilled as she seems.

Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

When I started to write What Planet Can I Blame This On? the Aisling series by Emer McLaysaght and Sarah Breen was at the front of my mind. I love the one-liners and the humour in this trilogy about a girl, Aisling, who decides to give up her safe, enjoyable life for the heady heights of the city and mad housemates.

Ghosts by Dolly Alderton

Another story where the city is a big feature is Ghosts. If you like books set in London then you should enjoy both What Planet Can I Blame This On and Ghosts. 

Almost Adults by Ali Pantony

If stories about quarter-life crisis’ and not have everything together are more your vibe, then I highly recommend Almost Adults. This story follows a selection of female friends whose lives have all veered off on different paths in their late twenties. This theme is very heavily involved in the plot of What Planet Can I Blame This On? 

Hot Mess by Lucy Vine

Hot Mess was one of my first ever contemporary women’s fiction novels and I fell in love. I particularly loved the messy main character who sleeps with the wrong people and makes terrible decisions about her life. It was the first time I read a realistically not-on-it female and opened up the path in my mind that said: characters don’t have to lead perfect lives!

The Summer Job by Lizzy Dent 

A recent release that has had a lot of buzz! The Summer Job follows a character who is trying desperately to escape her life by living in a bit of a fantasy. Living in a fantasy – like taking your friends’ job and moving to Scotland – is fine short-term, but it will lead to a whole host of problems in the long term.

My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

This is the only Sophie Kinsella I’ve read, but I loved it. The title really says it all, and my favourite element of the story is the opening. The protagonist is living in a shitty flat – her belongings are kept in a hammock above her bed as her room is so tidy – and she’s treated like dirt at her underpaying job. She takes photos of other’s people food for Instagram and acts like she’s living the high life online when really she’s struggling. When she’s fired she returns to her family farm in Somerset and goes through a journey of self-discovery. It’s a trope I love in women’s fiction books.

The Education of Ivy Edwards by Hannah Tovey

Another novel that focuses on a woman in her early thirties who is struggling, but trying to face the world with a brave and happy face. Ivy Edwards lives in London, is completely broke, and is drinking too much. This story focuses less on relationships and more on herself and her single-girl journey.

Adults by Emma Jane Unsworth

And finally, more upmarket women’s fiction novel is Adults but Emma Jane Unsworth. I include this novel in a reading list of books to read if you enjoy What Planet Can I Blame This On? because it’s, once again, set in the city and follow a thirty-something-year-old woman who acts like her life is great but really she’s struggling with a variety of things. Unlike my character which turns to astrology, Jenny McLaine turns to her mother who has shown up out of the blue.

Those are my book recommendations for readers of What Planet Can I Blame This On? From readers wanting to read more about quarter-life crisis and realistic women to contemporary women’s fiction set in London with lots of comedy.

Thank you to everyone who has reviewed What Planet on NetGalley so far. I cannot wait to celebrate with you on launch day on the 3rd June.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram // Waterstones

What Planet Can I Blame This On

 

Leave a Reply