Books To Pre-Order in 2020

Books to pre-order in 2020

Books To Pre-Order in 2020

As someone who works in publishing I know how important pre-orders are for books, particularly debuts.

If you love a book or are interested in a book then pre-order it! It can make the world of difference, not to mention skipping the line to get ahold of a copy.

When you pre-order a book you not only up the numbers and the chart position of the book, it also means you’re likely to add a review within the first few weeks of publication which can really help the book’s campaign.

So to make it easier, here are the books that I’ve pre-ordered or have been lucky enough to receive proof copies of in advance.

What Have I Done by Laura Dockrill

I’ve spoken about this book fairly recently, but this is a memoir based on Laura’s experience of postpartum psychosis and I think it’s set to be a brilliant must-read this Summer. Out 7th May 2020.

This Happy by Niamh Campbell

An exciting debut from a new Irish voice that is going to be perfect for fans of Eimer McBridge and Claire Louise Bennett. A contemporary story of a woman who reflects on an affair she had six years beforehand. Out 11th June 2020.

The Intoxicating Mr Lavelle by Neil Blackmore

A rather strange historical fiction with a satirical humorous edge. I see this book as someone writing about Lord Byron but set in the 90s cult movie of Plunkett and Macleane. And if you haven’t seen that movie – please watch it! Out 30th April 2020.

Olive by Emma Gannon

Yes, I know. How many times is Ellie going to mention this book!! But I can’t wait. Also, it’s out on my birthday – 11th June 2020! – That’s a sign.

The Hungover Games by Sophie Heawood

A non-fiction book from a journalist who is writing about her experiences of having a baby when she hadn’t grown up herself. An unplanned pregnancy led to Sophie returning to her home in the UK, from LA, only to be left couch-surfing at her friend’s and still wanting to have fun even when she had a baby. Out 7th July 2020.

Scenes of a Graphic Nature by Caroline O’Donoghue

I really enjoyed Promising Young Woman by Caroline O’Donoghue when it was released in 2018, so I’m aptly looking forward to her next novel. Following Charlie Regan back from England to Ireland to connect with her Irish roots, the story contains a conspiracy, a look of the prodigal coming home and family above all else. Out 18th June 2020.

How Do We Know We’re Doing it Right by Pandora Sykes

A set of essays on adulting? Yes, please! From one half of The High-Low podcast, Pandora Sykes has written a collection of essays on whether or not we’re getting life ‘right’. From happiness to wellness; womanhood to consumerism, this book is sure to set tongues wagging. Out 16th July 2020.

Ghosts by Dolly Alderton

The other half of The High-Low podcast is Dolly Alderton and after the success of her memoir Everything I Know About Love in 2020 she is releasing her first novel. Ghosts is all about a successful 30-year-old woman who is ghosted. Out 15th October 2020.

Loveless by Alice Oseman

Alice Oseman touches on subjects within YA that no other author in the UK seems to do. Her name book is all about asexuality, a poorly neglected aspect of sexual preference. I can’t wait to see what the book is like. Out 9th July 2020.

The Love Square by Laura Jane Williams

I’m very lucky to have already read this wonderful book by Laura Jane Williams, as I’m her marketing manager. However, I speak truly unbiasedly when I say that it is a gorgeous women’s fiction book with real edge and wit and very Laura Jane Williams. Out 9th July 2020.

The New Girl by Harriet Walker

This novel follows the story of Margot and Maggie. Margot is the successful editor of a lifestyle magazine who’s about to go on maternity leave. Maggie is a freelance journalist down-on-her-luck who becomes Margot’s maternity cover. But is Maggie all she seems, or is Margot experience postpartum paranoia? I guess we’ll find out 14th May 2020.

What books have I missed off this list? Are there any other awesome book I should pre-order? Let me know in the comments below.

Love Ellie x

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin // Instagram

Books to pre-order in 2020

Leave a Reply